logo_reaching-critical-will

Calendar of events for First Committee 2020

Due to COVID-19, in-person side events at the UN headquarters in New York will not be permitted in 2020. If your organisation or mission is planning a virtual or off-site in-person side event, please email us at [email protected] to have it posted on this page. 

Calendar last updated 22 October 2020. See also the events calendar published by UNODA.

When What Where Who

13 October
9:00-11:00 EDT
15:00-17:00 CEST

New horizons for victim assistance and environmental remediation: the TPNW's positive obligations

Online

Permanent Mission of Kiribati, Nuclear Age Peace Foundation, Harvard Law School's International Human Rights Clinic, Centre for International Security and Policy, and ICAN France

14 October
8:30–9:45 EDT
14:30-15:45 CEST

Nuclear risk: Which scenarios most worry us? Online UNIDIR

15 October
8:15–9:45 EDT
14:15–15:45 CEST

IEDs: Past, present, and future Online Action on Armed Violence (AOAV)

19 October
8:30–9:45 EDT
14:30–15:45 CEST

Innovations in life sciences Online UNIDIR

20 October
20:00 EDT

Nukes, climate change, black lives matter: what's the connection? Online
NYU IR Society,
Nuclear Age Peace Foundation, Peace Action New York State, Peace Boat US, Pathways To Peace, Prospect Hill Foundation, WCAPS, Black Lives Matter of Greater New York

21 October
8:30–9:45 EDT
14:30–15:45 CEST

New technological opportunities to bolster treaty compliance Online UNIDIR

22 October
8:30-10:00 EDT

Multilateralism and armed drones: escaping the gridlock Online Stimson Center and PAX

22 October

Launch of ME WMD Free Zone Documents Depository Online UNIDIR

22 October
09:30–11 EDT
15:30–17:00 CEST

40 years Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons: past, present and future perspectives Online Permanent Mission of the Netherlands and UNODA

23 October
08:30–9:45 EDT
14:30–15:45 CEST

The TPNW–a game changer in nuclear disarmament Online Permanent Missions of Austria, Brazil, Costa Rica, Indonesia, Ireland, Mexico, New Zealand, Nigeria, South Africa and Thailand, and ICAN

23 October
14:00–15:00 EDT
20:00–21:00 CEST

Report launch on military expenditures and humanitarian disarmament Online Nonviolence International Canada

26 October
08:00-10:00 EDT
13:00-15:00 CEST

Webinar on technological aspects of LAWS Online UNIDIR and UNODA

27 October
08:00-10:00 EDT
13:00-15:00 CEST

Webinar on military aspects of LAWS Online UNIDIR and UNODA

28 October
08:00-10:00 EDT
13:00-15:00 CEST

Webinar on legal aspects of LAWS Online UNIDIR and UNODA

28 October
13:00–14.45 EDT
19:00–20:45 CEST

Connecting the Women, Peace & Security agenda, and the disarmament agendas Online UNIDIR

29 October
09:00-10:30 EDT
15:00-16:30 CEST

Transparency and reporting in the Arms Trade Treaty: Trends and challenges in the age of Covid-19 Online Control Arms and the Stimson Centre

29 October
10:00–11:45 EDT
16:00–17:45 CEST

Launch of the UNODA briefing paper: Gender dimensions of the life-cycle management of ammunition Online UNODA and Small Arms Survey

29 October
9:00–11:30 CEST
AND
9:30–11:00 EDT
15:30–17:00 CEST

The state of ballistic missile proliferation today Online The Foundation for Strategic Research